The PHQ-8 is an eight-item scale developed specifically to screen for depression in American epidemiological populations. Score is the sum of the 8 items. A score of 10 or greater is considered major depression, 20 or more is severe major depression. The PHQ-2 includes the first two items of the PHQ-9. The purpose of the PHQ-2 is to screen for depression in a “first-step” approach. Patients who screen positive should be further evaluated with the PHQ-9 to determine whether they meet criteria for a depressive disorder.
Year: 2009 Authors: Kroenke Disease: Obesity Outcome: Quality of life-Physical and psychological functioning
See more tools that use this outcome
Measure: Depression
See more tools that use this measure
Number of RCTs that used this tool (in our study): 5
See the RCTs
Scale: Lower scores are better, scores range 0-24 for PHQ-8 and 0-6 for PHQ-2 Reference: Kroenke, K., Strine, T. W., Spitzer, R. L., Williams, J. B., Berry, J. T., & Mokdad, A. H. (2009). The PHQ-8 as a measure of current depression in the general population. Journal of affective disorders, 114(1-3), 163–173.
Target population: General population Focus Generic Translations available: Yes Original version validated: Yes Original language: English Form of delivery: Self-reported Licence needed: Yes 10.1016/j.jad.2008.06.026